This is not goodbye – but rather, thank you!

Hello friends!

I write this post this morning with a somewhat heavy heart.  I’ve recently been battling some health issues which (thankfully) are not dire, but are specifically related to my diet.  My diet, as you can imagine, largely consists of far too much sugar and chocolate than any human being can or should possibly consume within a given time!  I will not go into the personal details of these issues, but suffice it to say that, given the research I have done into them, I need to make some sacrifices of foods I hold dear and have always considered essential to my diet as a baker: namely, chocolate, coffee, and refined sugars.  So sad.

That being said, I will not be continuing my blog for some time, while I get these issues under control.  If and when I do, I’m not even sure that I can return to baking as much as I have.  It’s a fun, wonderful hobby and it has given me so much joy, but it’s sadly not a healthy one.  I’m always thrilled with sharing what I make – which is what I usually try to do – but having a new baked good on my counter each and every week is not especially healthy for me, or for Jake (who – I must say – has much more control than yours truly).  It would be one thing if I had my own bakery in which to experiment, and try a sample of something before setting it out into a bakery case to share with customers.  However, I do not see that opportunity on my immediate horizon.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank those of you who have subscribed and read my blog every week.  I know that I have only been doing it pretty faithfully for a few months, but I’ve gathered quite a handful of fans who I know read this every week – and for that, I am very grateful.  Baking brings me so much happiness and sharing it with all of you makes that happiness even sweeter (no pun intended – or maybe it is intended).  I do hope that you will maintain your subscription and will keep Neufangled Desserts among your ‘likes’ on Facebook, in case I stop back from time to time when I feel compelled to blog about a particular recipe.

As for Baked Sunday Mornings, I regret to say I will need to drop out of the gang.  I have met so many fabulous fellow bakers through this fun group and will definitely follow their progress with Baked’s wonderful recipes.  And who’s to say I may not jump in again when they do a recipe I really want to make?  I’ll always be happy to toss in my two cents!  I’m thankful to BSM for lighting that fire under me with my home baking – and for making me feel that I am not alone or ‘stalker-ish’ in my passion and love for that amazing little bakery in Brooklyn.  And along those lines, thank you to Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito for being my ultimate inspirations for baking and doing this blog!

I wish all of you the very best in 2013 and the years beyond.  Thank you, once again, for making Neufangled Desserts a part of your life!

Best,

Mark

199604_436436063060881_1661789574_n

6 thoughts on “This is not goodbye – but rather, thank you!

  1. Oh Mark…. I hope you are OK. Great letter by the way!

    I hope you and Jake had a very Merry Christmas and have a wonderful 2013.

    Maybe this will be the year that we will again see each other.

    Donna Bardenwerper

  2. Very best wishes from a fellow baker, follower of your blog, and Baked fan. I trust that the absence of baking will make you feel even better than your passion for baking once did! [I have thought about what I might do to replace the creative outlet if I ever need to stop my sugar-laden experiments in the kitchen, and I pictured myself with a piping bag full of clay, frosting ceramic cakes and cookies! (A little bit crazy, no?)] Anyway, I know this must be a hard decision; I am impressed and inspired by your healthy choices.

  3. Mark, don’t give it up. Mix it up! Bake some healthful, whole grain breads. German breads are incredible. Alternate with the indulgent recipes. I love baking, too. And I have many of my grandmother’s tortes waiting to be tried, but I too, have to not indulge in those things containing butter, chocolate, sugar. Hang in there. Meanwhile, go to Madison and check out the Cocolaterian. It is owned by my friend Leanne Cordisco’s. I have been telling her to pen one here in Milwaukee. I think you would be perfect! I can arrange an introduction.
    J

  4. I understand your need to stop baking for a while until your health issues are resolved. It is a hard thing to give up. But ones health is much more important. It is a challenge to bake without eating it. (a battle we all face) I do hope this doesn’t mean you give up blogging altogether. Your writing is superb and such a joy to read. I hope that you can find another outlet for blogging. I really do enjoy your posts (and I don’t think it is just because you’re baking) Perhaps a blog in how you are changing your eating habits and the challenges of doing so.
    Good luck in all you do and I hope to be reading more blog posts (about any new endeavours).

  5. I just found out about your blog today and I’m so sorry to hear that this has been making you ill.I’m still going to check these recipes out and try a few. I have to prepare a dessert for a teachers’ luncheon tomorrow—-maybe I will try one out. Hurry and feel better. Alice Russell

Leave a Reply

